Why "S" command in gcode.

If you have problems with your Neuron THC, questions in general, or anything that doesn''t fit in the other categories, post it here.
beefy
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Oct 2017, 18:32

Why "S" command in gcode.

Postby beefy » 08 Oct 2017, 18:08

Have just bought the Neuron Lite and am learning about the gcode generated by the Sheetcam post processor for UCCNC.

This is gcode for a simple 100mm square, no offset, no leadin, no leadout.

N0010 (Filename: 100mm SQUARE.tap)
N0020 (Post processor: NeuronThcUccncPost.scpost)
N0030 (Date: 09/10/2017)
N0040 G21 (Units: Metric)
N0050 G53 G90 G91.1 G40
N0060 F1
N0070 S500
N0080 (Part: 100mm SQUARE)
N0090 (Operation: No Offset, Default, T7: Steel 3mm Finecut @ 45A)
N0100 G00 X0.0000 Y0.0000
N0110 M205
N0120 M03
N0130 G01 Y100.0000 F2540.0
N0140 X100.0000
N0150 Y0.0000
N0160 X0.0000
N0170 M05
N0180 M05 M30

Does the "S500" have any purpose for the Neuron Lite. Normally the S word is a spindle speed command.

Thanks,

Keith.

robertspark
Posts: 29
Joined: 29 Jun 2017, 10:25

Re: Why "S" command in gcode.

Postby robertspark » 09 Oct 2017, 13:25

Keith,

I suspect it's a carryover from the original post processor the neuron is based upon

function OnInit()

post.SetCommentChars ("()", "[]") --make sure ( and ) characters do not appear in system text
post.Text (" (Filename: ", fileName, ")\n")
post.Text (" (Post processor: ", postName, ")\n")
post.Text (" (Date: ", date, ")\n")
if(scale == metric) then
post.Text (" G21 (Units: Metric)\n") --metric mode
else
post.Text (" G20 (Units: Inches)\n") --inch mode
end
post.Text (" G53 G90 G91.1 G40\n F1\n S500\n")
bigArcs = 1 --stitch arc segments together
minArcSize = 0.05 --arcs smaller than this are converted to moves

G40 is also presently not active in UCCNC, but its contained within the "On initiate" string of the post processor (just before the spindle command).
G91.1 is also not active within UCCNC either.....
Neither is G20 / G21 although they could be used as a scale flag

Its just an error / carry over, it has no effect on the motion or settings.

Rob

beefy
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Oct 2017, 18:32

Re: Why "S" command in gcode.

Postby beefy » 09 Oct 2017, 18:27

Cheers Rob,

once I get my system set up I'll modify the post processor so it doesn't spit it out any more.

Keith.

robertspark
Posts: 29
Joined: 29 Jun 2017, 10:25

Re: Why "S" command in gcode.

Postby robertspark » 09 Oct 2017, 18:34

Keith,

I've modified the post processors already and done
Simple X y one
Xy + engraver
Xy + engraver + rotary

I was going to test them this evening and I'll email them to you and Andrew

I've also got one that passes the voltage and pierce delay to the neuron

I can also pass amperage etc etc whatever you want to store with the toolsettings in sheetcam

I can do a post on here explaining how to modify the sheetcam post processor too to do anything if it's of help
Rob

beefy
Posts: 3
Joined: 07 Oct 2017, 18:32

Re: Why "S" command in gcode.

Postby beefy » 10 Oct 2017, 09:18

Hi Rob,

thanks again for those post processors.

Personally I'd love a post on how to modify the post processor. I've done some monkey see, monkey do stuff in the past, thanks to some help from Les himself, but as always I'm hungry for anything else I can pick up.

Cheers,

Keith.


Return to “General Discussion about the Neuron THC”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest